“Javaa Anniversary show” A celebration, Friday, July 11,2008


Tributes to Delroy Wilson & Phyllis Dillon to highlight “Their Music Lives On” segment

First twelve inductees to “JAVAA Jamaica Music Hall of Fame”

Jamaica Association of Vintage Artistes & Affiliates, (JAVAA), in association with the Jamaica National Building Society, (JNBS), are set to continue an impressive sequence of quality events in The Gardens”, Jamaica Pegasus Hotel on Friday 11th July 2008 with the annual “JAVAA Anniversary Show” at which the first twelve inductees to the JAVAA Jamaica Music Hall of Fame will be named.

“Their Music Lives On” is the theme for the concert segment, which will pay tribute to the musical legacy of some of our departed Jamaican entertainers. This time, the focus will be on Delroy Wilson and Phyllis Dillon. Delroy Wilson is reputed to be the major “child star influence” from Jamaica, that paved the way for others like Ken Boothe, Dennis Brown and Errol Dunkley; while Phyllis Dillon is considered as one of the real queens of Jamaican music, and her songs are staple at any credible expression of our musical legacy. Mary Isaacs and Angella Stewart will represent Phyllis Dillon, while the inimitable Ken Boothe OD, Errol Dunkley and young Jevaro Laing (14 yrs. old) will represent the much-loved Delroy Wilson.

Other tribute performances confirmed thus far are: Slim Smith (Lloyd Parks/Bunny Brown), Cynthia Schloss (Althea “Di Chic” Hewitt), Blues Busters (Ras Mandito/Bagga Case), Bob Marley (Roy Rayon), Don Drummond (‘Bubbles’ Cameron), Garnet Silk (Aaron Silk), Jackie Edwards (Boris Gardiner), Jacob Miller (Lymie Murray), Scotty (Andrew Cassanova), Count Ossie (Bongo Herman), Brent Dowe (Junior Sinclair), Ruddy Thomas (Leo ‘Jays’ Hall), Adina Edwards (Elaine Peart), General Echo (Krabwalking Jamrock), Roland Alphanso (Headley ‘Deadly’ Bennett OD), Clancy Eccles (Clancy Eccles Jr.), Tenor Saw (Gregory J), Stanley Beckford (Mento-Tone), Sonya Spence (Deon Hardy), Vic Taylor (Maurice Henry), Tyrone Evans (Francisco “Mako” Jarrett), Augustus Pablo (Robbie Lyn), and Justin Hinds (Michael Laing), all backed by Fab 5 and the Unique Vision Bands.

Now celebrating its fifth year of existence, JAVAA has established the JAVAA Jamaica Music Hall Of Fame, which it launched earlier this year (February 2008) at the Half Way Tree Entertainment Complex. After the induction of the first twelve awardees this year, six more will be inducted annually at the occasion of the “JAVAA Anniversary Show”.

The one and only Patrick Lafayette will emcee the show and Gladdy (Wild Bunch Disco) will provide pre-show and intermission music.

Gates open at 7:00 p.m., with Showtime at 8:00 p.m.

Tickets are on sale for $1,000 pre-sold, ($1,200 at the gate). Get them at Jamaica National Building Society, Music Mart (Twin Gates Plaza), Derrick Harriot’s One-Stop Records (Twin Gates Plaza). Tickets go on sale at Jamaica Pegasus Hotel in the week of the show.

“Javaa Anniversary show” A celebration, Friday, July 11,2008

Leave a Reply

Translate »